Mnangagwa Strikes Right Code, Appoints Mthuli Ncube, Kirsty Coventry

Olympic Medalist Swimmer Kirsty Coventry is Zimbabwe's New Minister of Sport and Culture.

HARARE – President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed economist Mthuli Ncube as Finance Minister in a 20-member Cabinet announced today.

Ncube is a banker and former African Development Bank chief economist and vice president.

There was no place for former senior Patrick Chinamasa, Obert Mpofu and Simon Khaya Moyo.

Olympic star Kirsty Coventry takes over as the Youth, Sports, Arts and Recreation Minister. Former Chitungwiza hospital chief executive Obadiah Moyo was appointed Minister of Health and Child Welfare, academic Sekai Mzenza takes over as Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare Minister, and Mangaliso Ndlovu is the new Minister for Industry and Commerce.

Addressing the media, President Mnangagwa said the new Cabinet will be results-oriented with all ministries mandated to release performance results every 100 days.

“We want to grow, modernise and mechanise the economy. We believe in the next five years we will be able to transform our people into middle-income citizens.

“We will continue with our 100 days plan, where ministries will be expected to publish their 100 day results. These appointments will be results-oriented. We decided to run with a 20 member Cabinet which we believe will go in line with our current challenges,” said Mnangagwa.

List of Cabinet Ministers:

Finance and Economic Development – Mthuli Ncube
Defense and War Veterans – Oppah Muchinguri
Local Government, Public Works and National Housing – July Moyo
Foreign Affairs and International Trade – Sibusiso Moyo
Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare – Sekai Nzenza
Industry and Commerce – Mangaliso Ndlovhu
Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage – Cain Mathema

Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology – Professor Amon Murwira
Primary and Secondary Education – Professor Paul Mavhima
Lands, Agriculture, Water, Culture and Rural Resettlement – Perrence Shiri
Mines and Mining Development – Winston Chitando
Energy and Power Development – Joram Gumbo
Transport and Infrastructure Development – Joe Biggie Matiza
Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services – Monica Mutsvangwa

ICT – Kazembe Kazembe
Environment, Tourism and Hospitality – Prisca Mupfumira
Youth, Sports, Arts and Recreation – Kirsty Coventry
Health and Child Welfare – Obadiah Moyo
Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs – Ziyambi Ziyambi
Women’s Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises Development – Sithembiso Nyoni