Zimbabwe’s Civic Groups Get EUR 5 Million Boost

Ambassador of Zimbabwe to the EU; Mr Donald TUSK, President of the European Council (File Photo: EU).

Harare: THE European Union has unveiled a total of EUR 5 million (approximately USD 5.5 million) to Zimbabwe’s civic groups to enhance their capacity to promote good governance, accountability, transparency and social cohesion.

The projects ought to strengthen Civil Society Organsiations (CSO’s) efforts to develop a conducive operational environment and to promote access to and dissemination of information on development processes.

 “The EU will continue to support the role of CSOs as key actors in the attainment of the Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs),” said Ambassador Timo Olkkonen, Head of the EU Delegation to Zimbabwe at the launch for call for CSO’s to submit proposals to access funding.

“This will include strengthening them to effectively perform their monitoring and representative role which also entails empowering both women and men, to collectively tackle injustice and inequality, to advocate for better social services and decent livelihoods.

“In the same way that CSOs demand accountability from duty bearers, they also have to be accountable and practise the same principles that they expect others to uphold, hence, the Call for Proposals also seeks to further strengthen CSOs to be more professional, transparent and effective.”

The call is launched in the framework of the ‘Civil Society Organisations and Local Authorities’ (CSO – LA) Thematic Programme.

The objective of the Programme is to strengthen civil society organisations and local authorities in partner countries with the aim of fostering an enabling environment for citizen participation and civil society action and cooperation, exchange of knowledge, experience and capacities, in support of internationally agreed development goals and in this instance, the 2030 agenda.

The call is fully in line with the objectives of the Cotonou Agreement, which governs relations between Zimbabwe and the EU.